Good evening and welcome to The British Deer Society

Deer species

Deer species

Six species of deer live freely in the British countryside. Only red deer and roe deer are truly indigenous. Fallow deer were almost certainly introduced by the Normans while three Asiatic species, Reeves’ muntjac, Chinese water deer and sika deer arrived in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The characteristics of each species make them well-suited to the habitats found across Britain and highly adaptable to environmental changes. Together they make a valuable contribution to biodiversity and are some of our most engaging British mammals.

Somewhat confusingly, the gender and offspring of deer species in the UK have different names.

Red deer Stag Hind Calf
Sika deer Stag Hind Calf
Roe deer Buck Doe Kid
Reeves’ muntjac deer Buck Doe Fawn
Fallow deer Buck Doe Fawn
Chinese water deer Buck Doe Fawn

Click below for details of native UK deer species.

Please Help BDS

Help us continue to speak up for deer!

How you can help

Donate – Big or small your donation will make a difference.
Membership – Be a member, recommend to a friend, bring the whole family on board.

 A HUGE thank you for your continuing support.

help bds