Good morning and welcome to The British Deer Society

North East Scotland

North East Scotland

Branch information and events

2018 Events

29 Apr Branch Clay Pigeon Shoot – Finzean
18-19 May    BDS Seminar and AGM - Edinburgh
29-30 Jun & 1 Jul Scone Game Fair
3-4 Aug Highland Field Sports Fair - Moy 
5-6 Aug Turriff Show
tbc Branch Butchery Demonstration & B-B-Q – Finzean Village Hall - event postponed from 19 Aug
26 Aug TBC Scottish Inter Branch Shoot, Glen Tilt 
28 Oct NE Scotland Branch Field Day – Mar Lodge Estate - see below for more information

2019 Events

17 Feb NE Scotland Branch AGM and Auction  - Finzean Village Hall , 3pm

Branch contacts

Chairman Brian Goodall b.goodall@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Vice Chairman Jim McQueenie j.mcqueenie@bdsbranches.org.uk
Secretary  Alison Espie a.espie@bdsbranches.org.uk
Range Officer Brian Thompson b.thompson@bdsbranches.org.uk
Treasurer Toby Rider t.rider@bdsbranches.org.uk
Branch BDS Journal entries co-ordinator Simon Blackett s.blackett@bdsbranches.org.uk
Branch webpage co-ordinator Grenville Irvine-Fortescue g.irvine-fortescue@bdsbranches.org.uk

Committee

Committee Member William Cruickshank
Committee Member Robert Ruxton
Committee Member Michael Eamer

News

28 October 2018 - NE Scotland Branch Field Day – Mar Lodge Estate, 10.30am

By invitation of The National Trust for Scotland. Meet 10.30 am at the main lodge. The Manager of Mar Lodge, Mr David Frew, will run/lead the day.

In outline, the day will include a presentation on the estate and its Wildlife (specifically Red Deer) and Forestry/Eco Management and a visit into the estate to (hopefully) view Red Deer. Branch members are encouraged to bring family members and guests to the event. Those attending will be required to bring their own picnic/pack  lunches and refreshments.


Branch Bursary

The Branch Committee again proposed at this year’s AGM that the Branch offer another one-off bursary to a young person living within the Branch area of £500 to help towards Gamekeeping College costs and training. If any Branch member knows of a young person whom they would wish to recommend for consideration for the bursary, they should pass the details to the Branch Chairman. Any applicant will be required to set out why they wish to choose a career as a gamekeeper/stalker and detailing any work experience they are under-taking, which college and course they are applying for and how they would use the bursary. The applicant would be required to make a short presentation at next year’s AGM. 


Submissions to the Branch Webpage and the BDS Journal

Branch members are requested to submit any articles and photographs of stalking or other sporting events that Branch members may find of interest and which can be used as possible submissions for the Deer Journal.

Submissions are requested for the October issue of Deer Journal to Simon Blackett, by 31 August 2018. Submissions for the January 2019 issue need to be with Simon by 16th November 2018.


Antler examples

Below is an image of a Roe Deer Buck with an unusual set of antlers near Aberdeen. Do any Branch members have other examples?