Good evening and welcome to The British Deer Society



Directors and Trustee Directors 


Lord Andrew Hay President
Professor Rory Putman Chairman
Sarah Gubbins  Treasurer
John Bruce Scottish Area Chair
Dr Morris Charlton England and Wales Area Chair
Professor Simon Gibson, CBE, DSC  
Dominic Griffith  
Dorothy Ireland  
John Johnson  
Alistair Monkman  
Nicholas Rout   
Hugh van Cutsem  
Leigh Welch   
Alfie Brand  

The British Deer Society (BDS)Trustees

The British Deer Society works exclusively for the sustainability of wild deer throughout the United Kingdom. For over 50 years, the Society has promoted knowledge and understanding about deer by providing support for academic research relating to deer and their habitat. The BDS delivers quality education and provides training to enable deer to be managed humanely and according to best practice.

Annually, the BDS seeks Trustee Directors to join its board and contribute expertise within specific areas. It is looking for candidates who empathise with the Society’s objectives and activities and who have solid experience in one of the following areas:  governance, fundraising, income generation, business development, membership recruitment, political/PR/media spokesperson, or investment management.  Some knowledge of the public agencies and voluntary Third Sector work would be helpful but not essential.

The Trustee/Directors have Board meetings 4 times a year (in person and/or teleconference) conducting additional business by virtual meetings and email. Each Trustee/Director commits additional time to participate in specific sub-board group activities.

The roles are voluntary but bring the opportunity to make significant contributions to an active and well- respected organisation.

Role of a Trustee

BDS Trustee Application Form

pdf BDS TD Code of Conduct (194 KB)